Scroll down
The Last Faculty Photograph 1992 L-R: Dianne Gaboreau (Director);  Pat Helwer;  Sandy Huff (Secretary);  Audrey Wasnie; Melanie Shumilak;  Jeanette Warren;  Ruth Enns;  Richard Bartlinski (Asst Director); Christine Hoeschen;  Dianne Stolar;  David Ezzard.
School of Psychiatric Nursing
1905 Staff Back Row L-R: Chief Attendant I Mailhot;  Chas Norquay;  Alex Birston;  William Booth;  Fred Schofield;  Paul Pruden;  Ed Whiteway;  Jack Bird;  Hu Kyle; Alex McKenzie  Centre: Medical Superintendent Dr David Young;  Matron Miss Euphemia McBride;  Cora Skinner;  Sophia Stevens;  Mary McGrenera;  Annie Selby  Front: Martha McLeod;  Bessie McCorristor;  Mina Peers; Ruby McBrayne Dr. Edward Johnson Gold Medal Awarded each year to a graduating student who demonstrated clinical and academic proficiency throughout their training program. This pin was based on the UK Royal Medico-Psychological Association Badge for British mental nurses. Grad Pin 1931 - 1978 Grad Pin 1979 - 1992 Mrs Lydia Tigchelaar, RN , RPN- teaching A&P to class of 1966 Student Council 1965 Back Row: Annette Thorimbert, Ruth Steeves, Lois Stevenson, Alfonse Gaborieau, Ann Marie Boisjoli  Front Row: Marg Fidler, Bill Leyland, Joan Ronald Nurses Residence and School of Nursing Graduate Uniforms 1960s’ House Mothers  L - R Mrs Miller Mrs Brown Mrs Robertson Mrs Tulloch Uniforms from 1924 to 1992 1 4 3 2 8 7 6 5 11 13 10 9 12 16 15 14 17 	1.	Dr. John English 	2.	Dr. Elizabeth Hartig 	3.	Dilla Narfason 	4.	Lydia Tigchelaar 	5.	Lois Lethbridge 	6.	John Crawford 	7.	Stewart Davidson 	8.	John Martyniw 	9.	Gerald Pronyk 	10.	Dr. Joyce Woods 	11.	Alice Inniss 	12.	Dianne Gaborieau 	13.	Carol Johnson 	14.	Donna Young 	15.	Larry Semenko 	16.	Roy Brown 	17.	Stan Surowich School of Nursing Faculty RPNA pin denoting Manitoba’s “Open Door Policy” 1960s. Collar Bar pin worn by female students in the 1930s to the 1970s. Graduate Nurse Chevron from the 1960s Sweater Chevron 1964 Chevron from the 1970s Click for Staff Profiles
Dr Charles Edgar Barnes 1879 to 1945, was the founder of the Selkirk School of Nursing. He was born at Forest Ontario and educated at Forest Public School, London Ontario Collegiaate and the Wesyern University. Following graduating from medical school he served in South Africa with the 10th Canadian Field Hospital. Dr Barnes returned to Canada and practised medicine at Pinkerton and Home wood Sanitarium. He came to Selirk as the Medical Sperintend in 1920 ans served until 1945. He died in Victoria BC in 1945. Dr Barnes established the nurses residence and school of nursing that opened in 1926. All subjects were taught by medical staff and the Assistant Matron durng the two year program. At this time, all students were female and requred to live in residence. Clinical practice was supervised by senior nurses. Amongst their many duties were waxing the floors, keeping patients clean and assisting with their meals. Students were paid $40.00 per month. In 1930s and the 1940s, the students graduated a Psychiatric Nurses. In the 1950s a nurse, Margaret Solar, was specifically appointed as a nurse teacher for the school. In 1959, the block system of training commenced. This prevented students from attending classes after working on the wards the same day. The class of 1963 was the first to graduate under this scheme. In 1960, the Psychiatric NursesAct came into existence that established the minimum number of hours. Nurses graduated with the elegal disignation RPN. In 1980, the new Registered Psychiatric Nurses Act which established standards for psychiatric nursing education were published. In 1991, the Provincial budget discontinued funding for the school and the last class to graduate was in 1992. The education of psychiatric nurses transferred to Brandon University for a 4 year undergraduate program leading to a Bachelor of Science in Psychiatric Nursing.